As many know who visit my blogs and websites – Red Ash Coal Towers & Cemetery hosts many paranormal legends. I would contend that most of the legends are urban sprawl and very little truth remains intact from earlier days. When I first started researching the paranormal there was very little info on Red Ash. I like to think my first video and blogs added to the notoriety of the place. Back then we could research the area with little traffic to impede our progress, now there is so much traffic with curious people dropping in that the past 4 investigations have been interrupted multiple times. The one thing that worries me is that since Halloween night someone broke one of the oldest headstones – the one belonging to Robert Jones – the one in the gated grave. This was one of the best parts of the legends; his grave site has a wonderful tale attached. Who would be so disrespectful? We were there Halloween night with a large number of people and the headstone was okay. We returned November 6th and it was broken. But each time we were there rowdy groups of people came along and just barged in upon our research, and once we saw teenagers climb inside the wrought iron surrounding this grave to challenge the legend of protective guardians. Obviously, there weren’t any guardians there to protect the grave site. Sometimes we have to use common sense. Ghosts and spirits are not humanly or earthly, if they exist at all. They can NOT harm the living. If they exist. They barely can let us know they’re here. If they exist. And even though I believe in spirits, and research paranormal phenomena I never do buy into the farfetched stories of some of these locations, I simply enjoy them for what they are. They are stories. Even if something did happen to someone, or even to myself, (and things have happened) I wouldn’t damage or destroy the site I was visiting. I would never intentionally bring harm to any place, and that is what I am concerned about. Have I unknowingly contributed to the defacing and destruction of this cemetery by sharing our research of reputed haunted places with the public? Should we paranormal investigators NOT disclose the locations of the sites we research? Actually, we shouldn’t share the blame for their ignorance and lack of respect- those who knowingly damage and destroy property -Those people, whomever and wherever they are, must stand responsible for their own actions & behavior & should face the consequences of their actions when caught. And hopefully, like The Bell Witch Cave and the legend that if someone takes a rock from there bad luck with be bestowed upon them, hopefully at Red Ash and other sacred sites (sacred meaning any place from our past which will offer historic promise & value to our future & current generations) any place where human beings are buried, as far as that goes any place that you don’t own and have no rights to even disturb, hopefully those who do bad things on these sites will have a heaping dose of bad luck. Ever heard of the word Karma? Thank goodness for it, as I am constantly reminded that without it, fools would go on being thorns in the side of life, embedding deeper and deeper until it festers and discharges the runny remains of what once was a thorn. There is a parable in that sentence. I apologize for the soap box rant, but I am seriously upset as I see more and more disturbance of other’s property. I have seen where people have destroyed and stolen from churches, even. I wonder about these morons. I also pity them. And for the people who may say rude things about what I do, as a writer and researcher of ghostly stories & legends- it is fine by me that you have your opinion, but I do NOT and will NOT ever bring harm to any place I visit and I stand by what I do proudly. I am not asking anyone else to believe in what I believe. I have an open mind but I keep this in perspective. Most local ghost stories are pure entertainment, and it is those that lose focus who think otherwise.
Spirits are like spirituality – unique to the person experiencing it. I enjoy searching for spirits… but I do NOT enjoy seeing the devastation left behind by those who do not care.

