I grew up listening to old fashioned southern ghost stories. It may explain my fascination with paranormal events. I have been writing a small collection of ghost stories for many months now. I can safely say that the ones I have written have not been published before, since most of the stories were handed down from family members, from the late eighteenth century through the early part of the twentieth century. Most of the stories are based on truth and the events either happened to a family member or one of their neighbors or friends, therefore I believe they are unlikley to have reached print. Not that I can find, anyway. I have researched Southern, and Appalachian ghost tales by visiting libraries and book stores, I feel comfortable that my short ghost stories are original. I am now facing a dilemma. I can submit the manuscript for publishing, but I wonder, should I self publish? I am mostly interested in sharing the book with family and friends, while offering it to the folks who visit my paranormal website. I am interested in becoming a published author, of course I am, but not yet. Although I have written most of my life, since second grade, I also had a 15 year writer’s block… or 15 years of working and raising a family. In other words, too busy, too tired, too drained from working 2 jobs most of the time and therefore I really did not have time, nor energy to write. Hence, I have become rather rusty. Regardless, I continue to write, it is most therapeutic for me. It is something I love, and the subject is very close to my heart, as I have been tracking ghost stories since August of 2009 locally, but most importantly, I have listened to ghost stories my entire life.

