I waited for months to finally see the legendary Bell Witch Cave. Was it worth the wait? The cave itself is worth the wait, and the drive, it took us 4 hours to get there. The story is great, if you want to check it here at this link,The Bell Witch: An American Haunting and yes I did buy the book. Back to our visit. Did I experience anything supernatural? Possibly. I put a video up on Youtube, so you can see the “mist”, and the faces that seem to come right out of the rock formations. We heard deep voices from within the cave at the beginning of the tour, I thought it might be from another tour, but they only run one through at a time. The cave is rather small, so there was no way anyone could have been at the back and get by our group to exit without us knowing. Also, my daughter looked up in one of the crevices  that lead to a second level, and thought she saw an old woman’s face. As for me, at the very end of the tour, as we came back to the room with the indian’s grave, I saw a hovering, spiraling mist, that wasn’t white, almost a muddy shade, and I watched as it swirled approx  1 1/2 ft off the ground, and was approx 3-4 ft tall. I thought at first it was a dust plume, but then realized this is a very wet cave, there was no dust, and furthermore it hovered and irrigated as I stared. As I reached out to tap my son and show him, it remained there for more than a solid 45 seconds, and he saw it, too. In my confidence that it was something indeed worthy of attention I announced, “What is that? Is it a mist?” And then called for the remaining group, as I averted my eyes to motion for  our group to look in that direction, I glanced back and it was rapidly dissipating, so  no one other than my 8  yr old son and myself saw what I believed was something trying to manifest. Wishful thinking? Possibly. I did stare at it long enough to know this was not a trick of the eye. Certaintly it could have a logical explanation. I just don’t have an answer as to what it was.

I don’t know too much about caverns, but at one area near the back room of the cave, there was a strong sulphuric smell that my husband brought to my awareness. This was also the area where our pictures caught “mist” in one out of a dozen pictures taken back there. I know under ordinary conditions what that smell implies. But this was inside a cave, maybe that is very normal with all the minerals and elements.

There are 3 places inside the cave that “faces” actually seem to form from the rock shapes, and one outside on the cliff. In addition, there is a strange, anomaly on one light in one of our photo’s, that is 1 picture out of 4 taken of the same corridor of the cave with this odd transparent “blob”. We took video, but we didn’t have the right equipment, so 95% of it was so dark, we couldn’t use much in the youtube vid, but it is worth checking out.   

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YVS_AArAAXI for our experience.

All I can say is I enjoyed my visit there.

A great story is the Bell Witch Legend. Please feel free to share any story you may have experienced there.

